Look into the future (and your data safety) with Role Viewer

super_gogglesOn Halloween, there will be lots of costumed heroes running around town. Given that, we thought it would be a good time to tell you about the super power all Onehub users have — the ability to see into the future with our special Role Viewer.

Onehub enables granular permission settings when sharing documents to give you more flexibility. With our role-based permissions, you can narrowly define how a user interacts with your content by assigning them roles such as “Collaborator,” “Downloader,” or “Viewer.” This gives you greater control over your data sharing.

To ensure that the people you share with can only access what you want them to, we created the Role Viewer. This gives you a preview of what the recipient will see at that permission level.

Here’s how it works.

This is a Workspace as seen by someone with full permissions. Notice the two greyed out folders. These are “hidden folders” that have limited access.

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 10.35.40 AM

When we invite users to this Workspace we have the option to select a permission level — and right next to that is a pair of goggles. This is the Role Viewer. Pick a permission and click the goggles.

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 10.36.10 AM

This will bring up the Workspace as seen by someone at that permission level (in this case, “Viewer”). Notice the black bar at the top indicating the view you are seeing, and that the greyed out folders are now gone. “Viewer” level permission holders do not have access to those hidden folders and are therefore not presented with them.

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 10.36.25 AM

To end the preview, click the “X” in the black bar at the top.

Role Viewer is an easy way to feel more secure by reassuring you that only the files you want to share will be displayed to a recipient. Which really is super.